Sunday, December 17, 2006

Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas...

OK, OK...I know's been a long time! But it's not as if I was goofing off! Well, maybe some of the time...but most of the time I've been working!

I was honored to read/review Flying Into Tomorrow and Other Stories by long-time author, Irving A. Greenfield and as we went on, we put together a larger book, merging more stories in and I wound up editing and getting everything read for him to submit to publishers.  His stories are funny, sad, memorable...indeed, all of them take you down a path of memories, perhaps his, perhaps those of others...but definitely there will be some "that remind [you] of the time...  What I enjoyed most about them was that they were open and refreshingly honest.  One was my favorite--a fantasy threesome with his boss as one of the lead characters.  Who of us don't have some type of images about the bosses of their past!  Well, this one is especially unforgettable!  Even though the present book is great and available, I would recommend you wait for the second edition! 

I was also pleased to once again work with Ruby Moon-Houldson.  You may remember that her first book was recommended for Oprah's book list...Well, her second book has been completed and will be available shortly so be on the lookout for it soon!  Another of her books, The Man Within by Ruby was also a different type of book...she sure does have imagination! Take a look at this review of her "romance."  


Thursday, October 12, 2006

Jesus is Not in the Official Scrabble Dictionary

There I was, taking a break with an online game of first move was going to be lots of points...I put in J to get a double letter on 8...and then I spelled out J-e-s-u-s and submitted my word...

And I was politely told that Jesus was not in the official Scrabble Dictionary...

I tried Jesu...


Surely Jesus is more than a proper name, I thought...Surely, Jesus would symbolize the Christian faith...or be listed as a great religious leader, no matter what religion...Nope!

Somehow, I couldn't proceed with that game...

Did I want to play anything where I couldn't say the word Jesus?

What is it with this world today?  You can hear lots of words that you never wanted to ever hear anywhere...and it will be said on tv, on the radio, in books, magazines...

I can read or hear those words...if I must...why can't others hear the name of Jesus?

I got an email recently where television leaders were considering not allowing "Touched by an Angel" on tv because they said the word God...

Don't you think God is chuckling just a little because this world has become so afraid that they will no longer tolerate freedom of speech...

For that is what is happening...

I have always been open to reading alternative views, no matter my beliefs.  Reading or hearing from another who does not believe as I do, does not demand that I change my beliefs or agree with what I read/hear...

How has this world, specifically, how has the United States come to be so narrow-minded, fearful and ignorant, that it will no longer tolerate what a large majority is interested in? 

Myself, I find it mighty sad and discouraging...and wonder how those few who are intolerant have come to carry so much weight in decision-making...

So... Scrabble does not include Jesus in their official dictionary...that's ok, I can always stop playing Scrabble...and Jesus will still be around!  Thank God!

Monday, October 2, 2006

The Computer or the ID ten T Error?!

Old Harold
I was having trouble with my computer. So I called Harold the computer guy, to come over. 

Harold clicked a couple of buttons and solved the problem.  He gave me a bill for a minimum service call.

As he was walking away, I called after him, "So, what was wrong?"

He replied, "It was an ID ten T error."

I didn't want to appear stupid, but nonetheless inquired, "An, ID ten T error? What's that .. in case I need to fix it again?" Harold grinned.... "Haven't you ever heard of an ID ten T error before?"

"No," I replied.

"Write it down," he said, "and I think you'll figure it out."

So I wrote down ...... I D 1 0 T      I used to like Harold.                                                             ~~~

Good Morning! 

Robert Noonan, author of the Wildflowers trilogy, sent me the above joke... I thought it was know, sometimes you have to wonder though... Notice the one black typed sentence above?  Well, I thought I'd be a little fancy for the joke, so I changed the color...except, this sentence wouldn't change!  I tried five different times!

You know, I think Harold has a very weird sense of humor!


Speaking of Bob, he is getting read to submit his three books to a publisher!  I wish him the best in getting everything ready... Of course, he seems to feel that I should help, so I have the job of one final proofreading...of all three! 

I'm just now finishing reading an anthology on fate...interesting selections!  And have finished and am working on a review for R.D. Fresh.  At the same time, I'm doing a final proofreading for a reprint of Flying into Tomorrow.  Check out my review on this one, a favorite of mine...

And while you're out there, check out an investment book for student housing/real estate if you're interested:

Then, if you have children or grandchildren...check out a fantastic self-learning book on financial freedom, geared toward our youth:

In my opinion, Patrick Lyons has provided an outstanding contribution to our young people!  Do take a look at this one!

I have had the most fun with a new author whose book came in about a month ago... I liked it, but... 

Since the author was amenable, I did a critical review of his book, suggesting ways to improve it.  Since then, he's rewritten and resubmitted it for a new read and a formal review.  I can't wait!  In fact, that's the one that's next on my stack!  Will tell you more later, but it's an historical romance telling us about "black gold."  Very interesting!


Hey, while you're out checking out my reviews, take a look at all the books highlighted on our site!  We have a steady stream of submissions for review and we've added two new reviewers since the last time you might have visited. 

Our dear director has been extremely busy...she has two new books out and has a number of sites to visit!  I'll pull those together and share during your next visit here!

By the way, I have a new blog started... it had been percolating in the back of my mind, but my sister, Marlene, recently asked about a former pet column I had I decided to move ahead with this one...Do stop and visit with the Cabin Cats!

Friday, September 1, 2006

A Smile, a Giggle...Get Your Grammar Book Out!

Ok, Ok...just take a break! 

My sister sent these words in an email now being sent anonymously across the WWW...

Guess why I'm sharing on this site?

Did I read that sign right?

In a Laundromat:

In a London department store:

In an office:

In an office:

Outside a secondhand shop

Notice in health food shop window:

 Spotted in a safari park:(I sure hope so) ELEPHANTS PLEASE STAY IN YOUR CAR

Seen during a conference:

Notice in a farmer's field:

Message on a leaflet:

On a repair shop door:


Are you smiling?  Enjoying these mistakes!  Guess what?  We see a lot of them! 

Writers, don't depend upon others to pick up basic mistakes on topics of grammar and punctuation that you should know!  Ok, I have a good memory and I remember the rules...if you can't, then get your reference books out and check yourself!  And, remember, a publisher only needs to receive your cover letter and read a few pages...if there are errors, your chances that the individual will continue reading have been greatly reduced!

It's not a crime to not remember what you were taught all those years IS sad, though, if you want to be an author. Prepare yourself with basic tools!  Remember, nobody knows how many errors you make...unless you don't proofread, proofread, proofread!

And, remember, all of us makes misteaks.  That's where friends can be helpful...find a close one and ask them to read your work before you send it out...and be open to feedback!


God Bless!

Tuesday, August 15, 2006

Another Da Vinci?

I just read Cross Bones by Kathy Reichs. Sunday Times of London called it "A Spirited Rival to The Da Vinci Code...

Since Kathy Reichs is one of my "must-read" authors, I naturally picked up Cross Bones!

(By the way, have you noticed that some books are being shaped differently and are costing more from mainline publishers--this paperback listed for $9.99).

I had not yet read The DaVinci Code although I have it in my e-book library.  Maybe now I'll read it to see how it compared with Reichs.

Actually, I saw no big deal in this book...yes, there were suppositions about Jesus that most Christians will disbelieve immediately.  Actually, though, I have not found it hard or a conflict to read alternative suppositions.  The point is, my faith leads me to "know that I know" that Christ's was indeed the Son of God and that there is no question of doubt about His story.

What I did get from Cross Bones was more information about the time of Christ...and, to me, learning about history through fiction books is a great thing! 

Yes, since the main character for Reichs' books is Dr. Temperance Brennan, we automatically know, as her readers, that there is going to me at least one skeleton in the story.  Now in this one, there were two, one of which Dr. Brennan had a chance to examine and determine that it could not be Jesus.  The other one, though definitely a skeleton of someone who had been crucified, was burned to ashes before it could be further examined.  Yes, both of these were postulated to be Jesus...and, of course, the book closed with an inability to verify that hypothesis.

Hey, I enjoyed the book!  I like reading about the life of Christ, I like to learn about the disputes between different people as to why it would be a problem to this group or that...

But, for those of us who have welcomed His Spirit within our Hearts...He lives today, and everyday...and a crucified skeleton cannot ever change that.  He Lives!

So maybe I'll sit in front of my computer soon and see what the DaVinci "fuss" is all about!  LOL


Sooooo...I also just finished a wonderful story called, The Man Within by Ruby Moon-Houldson.  A romance story like no other!  I'll be writing my review soon, so keep posted.  The book will not be published until January, so I'll be mentioning this one again and again!

My next read, interestingly, will be a partial manuscript...and after that will be a nearly 500-page manuscript.  I must admit I'm enjoying reading books before they are published.  If an author is able to trust enough to seek a "critical review," then I find that those efforts are more rewarding as we can help new authors move forward in their careers...

Not every author can trust, though.  I found it interesting and then sad when I started reading a fine, educational self-help book and found problems in the printing as well as a couple of mistakes.  It seems the author had hired a number of individuals to edit and proofread books.

Writers!  Hear this!  When Rainbow's End Publishing Company was still publishing books, we normally had four different individuals, if not more, reading through the books.  It is natural that typographical mistakes are made.  It is also possible for individuals to "miss" some errors when they work.  In fact, this often happens when the individual has no vested interest in the book itself, but is merely proofreading.

I have found that when I review books and am reading for content, I most generally find a few mistakes...Expect this!  Don't Panic!  Wouldn't you rather know what errors are in your book so that you can either work to get them corrected or at least know the extent of the problem.  Well, I tried to do this recently...and the writer got I stopped that project.  Sometimes you can help...and sometimes, you can't...


Boy, my other recent read was a doozy!  Keith Ablow's The Architect is an unforgettable suspense!  Consider his profession, consider his professional need for perfection...and the possibilities...that's all I'm willing to say!  One other thing...don't read it late at night!

Keep Reading!

"The Worth of a book is to be measured by what you can carry away from it." --James Bryce

Sunday, August 6, 2006

Finally, my latest reading list! Plus More!

So, what are you doing during these hot, muggy days? Here in Book Reader’s Heaven, there’s always a new novel handy to keep me busy and interested—and to forget about the weather!

I’ve just finished reading The Chalet by Susan Lynn and that review will be posted shortly. Also finished are We the People by Adolph Caso and Cold Hit by Stephen J. Cannell. It turned out that I did a short essay rather than reviews on these two books; however, each in its own way, certainly deserve your attention! Since it was combined, check my comments on Amazon under either of the books!

As always, as an avid reader, I have very few books that are turned away without my reading it...Here's those that caught my attention recently...note that I've added a few symbols as further info (see below for details).  You can see the books are arranged alphabetically for your easy use.  I've tried to write reviews for all my books...but those who ask my help for editing and reading their books keep me fairly busy...LOL... So, I'll just say, pick up--you'll like it!

A Rage in Paradise Ralph Arnote 1997

Against The Wind J. F. Freedman 1992

Always Time to Die Elizabeth Lowell 2006*

Avenger Frederick Forsyth 2003

Before I Wake Anne Frasier 2005

Bones Buried Deep Max Allan Collins 2006

Born to be Wild Catherine Coulter 2006*

Breaker’s Reef (Cape Refuge Series) Terri Blackstock 2005*#

Cape Refuge Terri Blackstock 2002*#

Cat in a Neon Nightmare Carole Nelson Douglas 2003*

Charity Len Deighton 1996

Cold Service! Robert B. Parker 2006*

Dead End Mariah Stewart 2005*

Devil’s Corner Lisa Scottoline 2006

Faithless! Karin Slaughter 2005

Familiar Escape Caroline Burnes 2006

Finding Anna Christine Schaub 2005

Fire Sale Sara Paretsky 2006*

For All the Right Reasons Elaine Coffman 1991

Fox River Emilie Richards 2001

Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince! J. K. Rowling 2005

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix! J. K. Rowling 2003*

Houses of Stone Barbara Michaels 1993*

Killing Time! Linda Howard 2006*

Lady Thief KayHooper ` 2006*

Last Witness Jilliane Hoffman 2005

Memory in Death J. D. Robb 2006*

Moonlight on the Millpond Lori Wick 2005#

Night Sins! Tami Hoag 2006

Play Dead Anne Frasier 2004

Pursuit Thomas Perry 2001

Rage Jonathan Kellerman 2005*

Retribution Jilliane Hoffman 2004

River’s Edge (Cape Refuge Series Terri Blackstock 2004*#

Scent of Roses Kat Martin 2006

Shadows Edna Buchanan 2006*

Southern Storm (Cape Refuge Series) Terri Blackstock 2003*#

Storm Winds! Iris Johansen 2002

Straight Into Darkness! Faye Kellerman 2005

Street Dreams Faye Kellerman 2003*

Suspicion of Rage Barbara Parker 2006

The Court of Three Sisters! Marianne Willman 1994

The Witness Dee Henderson 2006*#

The Cat Who Dropped a Bombshell Lilian Jackson Braun 2006*

The Cat Who Talked Turkey Lilian Jackson Braun 2004

The Closers! Michael Connelly 2006*

The Long Road Home ! Danielle Steel 1998

The Secret Garden Frances Hodgson Burnett 1911@

The Secret of the Old Mill Franklin W. Dixon 1927@

The Shaman’s Bones! James D. Doss 1998

The Wind Dancer! Iris Johansen 2002

Trial by Ice and Fire! Clinton McKinzie 2003

Under Lock and Key Sylvie Kurtz 2003

Mary Mary! James Patterson 2005*

____! after title means Wow!  I really enjoyed this one; *means that this was written by one of my "short-list" of must-read authors; # denotes Christian novels; @reprints of older books (although others might be reprinted as well, those were done by the involved authors)

Note that I wish I knew how to create a better organized blog--but, gee, that would mean that I would have to stop reading in order to learn some new process...which do you think I've chosen!  LOL

Until next time...Happy Reading!

Thursday, July 27, 2006

Some Unknown Writers Give Us So Much!



You Are Unique

You are absolutely unique.

Enjoy that uniqueness. You do not have to pretend in order to seem more like someone else. You weren't meant to be like someone else. You do not have to lie to conceal the parts of you that are not like what you see in anyone else.

You were meant to be different. Nowhere ever in all of history will the same things be going on in anyone's mind, soul and spirit as are going on in yours right now.

If you did not exist, there would be a hole in creation, a gap in history, something missing from the plan for humankind. Treasure your uniqueness. It is a gift given only to you. Enjoy it and share it!

No one can reach out to others in the same way that you can. No one can speak your words. No one can convey your meanings. No one can comfort with your kind of comfort. No one can bring your kind of understanding to another person.

No one can be cheerful and lighthearted and joyous in your way. No one can smile your smile. No one else can bring the whole unique impact of you to another human being.

Share your uniqueness. Let it be free to flow out among your family and friends and people you meet in the rush and clutter of living wherever you are. That gift of yourself was given you to enjoy and share. Give yourself away!

See it! Receive it! Let it tickle you! Let it inform you and nudge you and inspire you!


Author Unknown!

Smile God Loves you!

Wednesday, July 12, 2006

Adolfo Caso's Latest Poem

A hot, muggy day...just the day for a good read...I finished Just a Short Walk on the Beach, by Neal Tyner which obviously had me thinking vacation, vacation...and beautiful water!  I've finished my review and if you're heading for the car right now, stop at the Bookstore...or we'll be posting my review help convince you!

And speaking of vacation, Adolfo Caso, sent me his latest as he's catching up with things while taking his vacation!  What do you think?

The Poem

Undulating to the light breeze,

Resting on the hammock

Between two ancient oaks

At the edge

Of the shimmering waters

Of Big Island Pond.

My eyes flickering

As though the twilight

Were emerging in full

And my consciousness

Giving in to the oncoming sleep.

On each opening of the eyelids

Verdant waters reflecting pines

Along the deep edge of the forest

And liquid red and yellow

Painting canvasses

With the brush of a master.

In building my poem,

How to infuse the words

With the rippling colors?

How to choose words

To carry my conscience?

Closed, my eyelids screen

Morphing images without origin,

Beyond fantasy,

And, to end in disappearing details

Without destiny—

Frightfully mesmerizing

As to break my

Virgilian séance:

If I were a master of the brush

I could create a new earth

All the while knowing

The world is always the same

And never changing.

Full clouds reflecting

On a patch of sparkling water,

Eliminating their distance

While tiny ripples of bubblets

Spring upwards from within the earth

Breaking the surface of the water,

Without noise.

Water being the conduit to new forms,

Will it be the egg for a new speckled trout?

Or, the genesis of a pup?

Errant thoughts

Without dimension or perspective

Confusing the mind

Until the sleep turns off the screen

And I am dead

To a world in paradise!

First a rustling,

Then a tug at the hammock,

My eyes open onto little Elizabeth

Full of red hair.

My arm extended

She climbs aboard,

Without a word:

Stretching her legs along my side,

One hand on my bountiful belly,

Her head snug into my chest,

Both sharing paradise.

Suddenly, all confusions cleared:

Elizabeth is the poem! (U)

I'll never know how such beautiful words can evolve into a perfect little story...yet that is what happens, doesn't it!  If you enjoy poetry, you MUST check out Adolfo's new CD now available at Amazon!  If you need to check out my review first, here's the link and we'll be updating our site to highlight its availability soon!

Take enough books on your vacation and Happy Reading!


On of my email friends sent the following...I liked it enough to share with you!

A group of alumni, highly established in their careers, got together to visit their old university professor.  Conversation soon turned into complaints about stress in work and life.

Offering his guests coffee, the professor went to the kitchen and returned with a large pot of coffee and an assortment of cups:  porcelain, plastic, glass, crystal, some plain looking, some expensive, some exquisite, telling them to help themselves to the coffee.
After all the students had a cup of coffee in hand, the professor said: If you noticed, all the nice looking expensive cups were taken up, leaving behind the plain and cheap ones.  While it is normal for you to want only the best for yourselves, that is the source of your problems and stress.
Be assured that the cup itself adds no quality to the coffee, in most cases it is just more expensive, and in some cases even hides what we drink.  What all of you really wanted was coffee, not the cup, but you consciously went for the best cups and then began eyeing each others cups.
Now consider this:  Life is the coffee, and the jobs, money, and position in society are the cups.  They are just tools to hold and contain life, and the type of cup we have does not define, nor change the quality of life we live.  Sometimes, by concentrating only on the cup, we fail to enjoy the coffee God has provided us. 

Saturday, June 24, 2006

A Busy Time with Fun Books!

From far distant places men never travel anymore

Hidden amidst the clouds and snowy acres

Out past the green the beauty of the wind,

still longing, still kissing mountain tops.

So, it is safe to say we know not where the wind comes from...

down it comes from the tabernacle of the sky...

to touch us where we live.

On evenings where the thunder grows,

on nights where the lightning chases,

from the west my friend the wind comes for her visit.

Why is it, the morning is so calm after she passed me by?

Why can't there be too much of the stirring in my soul?

thomas (U)

This poem reminds me  of when I was on a cruise ship a number of years ago...I think I was the only passenger that went out...the wind was so strong that I had to hold on to the railings and pull myself to make it around to the end of the ship...then I stood there, absorbing it, holding on for safety even though I knew "the wind" wouldn't be able to "blow me away..." LOL

Why was I the only one who wanted to brave the wind and fight against it? I don't know.  Yet, I knew I loved being there...staring out over the water, the skies looking as if rain would come at any minute, the waves high and raging. Yet I was peaceful inside. How is that possible, my friend?

This latest poem from Thomas Kemp, my favorite Poet, is a favorite for me because it has brought back pleasant memories!  If you like it too, you might want to check out my review on his book and then head on to Amazon to order!


This has been a busy time for me as I’ve had the pleasure of reading a number of new books by new authors! Take a look at highlighted book Vietnam:  No Regrets by J. Richard Watkins.  If you like non-fiction and/or biographical books, you might want to consider this one.  As some of you know, I've found an interest in learning more and more about the men who served in Vietnam.  Watkins provides a book that reads like a diary and is the most comprehensive book that I've read from an individual serviceman.  Again, I thank you for sharing your story Richard!

To counterbalance the strong emotions elicited by Watkins, Thomas Edward made me laugh in Fighting Girls!  This book took me back to younger years when my brother would get to choose the TV show to watch and it was wrestling.  If you are a fan, hey, this little book will be a great read for you!

Blaine is a story about the future in human genetic engineering! It is an amazing tale for your consideration and one I highly recommend! This one is not yet posted so more on this next time!  I've also been working on We the People and have found myself responding to this "history text" like I have never done in the past!  Keep looking for this important review!

I have also had the opportunity to edit Ruth of Moab by Author O. Wright, who wrote Lavina and Autumn's Turning by Mary Edwards's_choice.htm, author of the delightful Elizabeth's Choice.  I'll keep you posted on these great books!


Thursday, June 1, 2006

Interesting Article

Wow...when will POD publishers learn that they can't just publish anything?

Now I realize that authors have a responsibility to proofread/edit and ensure their book is ready for final printing...but since this problem is so prevalent, I have to believe that the primary fault lies with the company!

Frankly, I'm disappointed that a group associated with Amazon.Com has been cited for this quality of work.  I've always been satisfied with the operations within the bookstore, so it bothers me that BookSurge was an acceptable merge with them...

While I don't agree with large sums of money being awarded in this type of law suit, I do think that authors are going to have to stand up for basic competency!

Avoid BookSurge unless you've done major research on them!

By the way, I also learned today that AOL is contemplating some type of tax on email.  Be on the alert for this as well.  I've heard problems about mail not being able to get through AOL filters in the past but have been satified with my own service...but nobody likes to be played for a fool.  Spam is Spam whether somebody can pay to get around it or not!  My response:  Boo Hoo Hiss!  Say it isn't so AOL!!!

Hey!  Please go out and take a look at my review on VIETNAM:  NO REGRETS!  This was the best non-fiction story I've read on this war and if you have somebody over on to Amazon and buy's well worth the price! 

Monday, May 29, 2006

Add JADE STERLING to your must-read list!

I told you it was out!  I just finished reading the final version of Portraits and writing my final review!  Some of you may remember that I had read the manuscript first so that I could provide a few lines for the book cover, which I was happy to do at the request of the author.

Okay, this was even better than the I thought I'd share my entire review right here!  It's not even posted on our site yet! but is out there on you can go out and buy a copy!


Warning: This is a Tearjerker! I’ve always loved "unique stuff" so it was a given that I loved this strange and enchanting story! In her first novel, Portraits: The Power of Undying Love, Jade Sterling, provides readers with an unbelievable mystery, a heartbreaking love, and inspired forgiveness. That’s combined with portraits of the past, a touch of magic, and a fulfillment of destiny. Merged together it results in one of the most fascinating romances I’ve ever read!

A strange bequest comes to Emily! It not only is strange to not know from whom the money came, it is strange because it sets off a series of questions and discoveries that finally results in a separation from her husband, Greg. Greg had promised his "Princess" that he would love and protect her; however, Emily felt his actions were based upon jealousy, possessiveness and a lack of trust. With these long-standing feelings, it was not surprising when money came to both Emily, and also to her father, that it would mean trouble.

The real breaking point for Emily, however, was finding that Greg had withheld a letter from a publishing company to whom she had applied for work. When Emily received the phone call asking why she had not responded to their letter and that they were very interested in hiring her to create a number of front covers for their magazine, she never once thought of saying no. She agreed to fly to New York to discuss a contract and their assignments. Nothing Greg could say would explain his opening and not bringing home this important letter that had been addresseddirectly to her. This was not about protection, this was about control—and Emily could no longer adapt to Greg’s obsessions!

But while in New York, Emily Brooks met Scott Harrison and immediately both Emily and Scott were caught in an unearthly magnetism which led to a brief love affair. Why did Emily feel as if she had already met Scott, her new boss? Why did he look so familiar to Emily? How could Emily and Scott come to love each other so much and so soon?

They say in Greek mythology that three goddesses control fate, or destiny. Clotho wove life based upon a thread to the past. Lachesis measured that thread, deciding when destiny would come about and Atropos would cut that thread, sometimes through a death. They come into our lives at birth, spinning good or evil, manipulating the threads of our lives. Was it destiny? We don’t know! What we do know is that neither Emily nor Scott wanted to fall in love. Scott was a committed husband and Christian. Emily, though hurt and confused by her husband’s actions, would never have picked her new married boss for a lover! She knew that could only lead to trouble and heartache…and yet…

Emily was commissioned to create a cover for a feature story on the survivors of the Titanic. Through a series of interviews, readers are provided a variety of well-researched information on the survivors and what happened to them and in learning these details, Emily is slowly able to piece together the mystery. But it was too late!

Sterling brings her characters to life through intimate dialogue and internal thoughts. Emily may be your best friend. Scott is so conflicted that you can feel his confusion and inner turmoil. Greg’s personality change, as it evolves, moves readers from early anger for his actions into a warm respect and admiration for the love and support he finally gives to his wife.

Is this a happily ever after book? Some may think so. But I have to wonder. Will destiny try again and will the goddess Atropos allow a different ending some time in the future? Portraits brings the past and present together in an unforgettable magical fulfillment of love once lost. Can the power of undying love ever really end?

This novel tops the normal top scale! I give it a 5+ and consider it a must-read for romance lovers everywhere!

Monday, May 15, 2006

Portraits: The Power of Undying Love Now Available!

Jade Sterling's Book is out!

Ok, So I'm just a little excited about this book being available!  Check it Out!  I first read the manuscript and provided a preliminary review which I am now will be available shortly.  But I just had to let you know!  Buy It!  NOW!

This is a Tear Jerker--a love story like no other that I've ever read...and you know I prefer mysteries!  So when I'm raving, you know I am Serious!

Oh, and I just happened to be cited on the back cover!  LOL

Saturday, May 6, 2006

Poet Still Writing! Read Kemp's Latest!

Goooooood Morning Vietnam! Yes, that's what I'm reading about right now...More about that book later!

Thomas Kemp, Poet, still writing


Your eyes were so much

Like passports to adventure

Looking out picture windows

As now I recall…

Yes you are very beautiful

More than a window

You have become my door

To love.

Thomas (U)


Thomas, my favorite poet, sent me his latest! Isn’t it lovely? If you like his poetry and don’t know it yet, his book is now available! Check out my review and then connect directly from there to Amazon to purchase! Personally, I hope it is selling well and the above is his first poem for his next book!


Now, where was I…?

As I was working on my last journal entry directly online, somehow I pushed some magic button that resulted in the last part of my entry being deleted. Ok, I admit it¾ I don’t handle frustration well. My solution, therefore, was just to close out "that" entry and plan for my next one! I’d already discovered not to submit entries directly to the journal. I put everything into Word and then I copy and paste onto my blog! So what happened last time…well, see, I was editing what was already there…Oh forget it…It was my frustration—I don’t want to make it yours! LOL

Hey, what have you been reading?! Any you’d like to recommend? You know, of course, that unless I give a book a bad review…anything I list here would be recommended for great reading!

Caught in the Shadows by C. A. Haddad                      

Trust No One by Christine Heggam

The Black Silent by David Dun

Dance for the Dead by Thomas Perry

A Vote for Murder by Jessica Fletcher & Donald Bain    

I’ll be Watching You by Andrea Kane                                                

The Hanged Man’s Song by John Sandford 

The Prey by Allison Brannan                      

The Final Voyage of the Sea Explorer by Douglas Boren*

*Look for a review on this sometime in the future!

On the professional front, I’ve had some good times. Many of you wrote and commented about my recent "sound-off" for the lack of concern for printing books that were not in perfect shape. Well, upon receiving my final review of the book about which I wrote, I was asked to illustrate errors/problems for the publisher. They agreed to redo the book! Maybe POD and similar publishers will begin to know that we expect the same care and professionalism from them and their staffs as we do from the big publishers! Whenever you find problems with books, I hope you, too, will speak up and try to help with this major problem!

I also was pleased to do a "critical review" of a book for an author. Sometimes, when a writer is working on a new novel, they just need an outside perspective. I had read the book of this author, and while it was good, I knew it could be better and I knew the author could write the story better. So, I shared my thoughts. The author is now rewriting. No, I’m not the greatest editor in the world. But it seems I do have a God-given talent for reading and seeing something "amiss." I’m thankful that I was the one to whom this particular book had been sent. The author shared having concerns about the book, but that other readers had thought it was great. So, be careful writers, go with your instinct and forget about deadlines if you feel your book is not yet what you want it to be!

So many books…so little time! LOL


Thursday, April 27, 2006

I Never Learn!

Ok...I'm getting the hang of this...really I am...

What I've learned:  Do not leave your journal entry without saving it!  I just did it...and I did it the last time too...a lot of my words are going out into cyber space!  So, I'm going to send you a little poem that my boss, Bettie, sent me from our IP Site.

Why Computers Sometimes Crash!
by Dr. Seuss.
(You gotta read this one out loud)

If a packet hits a pocket on a socket on a port,
and the bus is interrupted at a very last resort,
and the access of the memory makes your floppy disk abort,
then the socket packet pocket has an error to report.

If your cursor finds a menu item followed by a dash,
and the double-clicking icon puts your window in the trash,
and your data is corrupted cause the index doesn't hash,
then your situation's hopeless and your system's gonna crash!

If the label on the cable on the table at your house,
says the network is connected to the button on your mouse,
but your packets want to tunnel to another protocol,
that's repeatedly rejected by the printer down the hall.

And your screen is all distorted by the side effects of gauss,
so your icons in the window are as wavy as a souse;
then you may as well reboot and go out with a bang,
'cuz sure as I'm a poet, the sucker's gonna hang.

When the copy on your floppy's getting sloppy in the disk,
and the macro code instructions are causing unnecessary risk,
then you'll have to flash the memory and you'll want to RAM your ROM,
and then quickly turn off the computer and be sure to tell your Mom!

Well, that certainly clears things up for me. How about you?
Thank you, Bill Gates, for bringing all this into our lives

Happy Computing in 2006

P.S.  A lot of Moms aren't around for just grin and bear it!  Like I do!

Later!  LOL!

Tuesday, April 18, 2006

Cabin Fever? Or Spring at Last!

It's Cabin Fever
by Rebecca Brown
Cabin FeverWhen the walls in your home seem everso close
& the spaces between the furniture have shrunk
& the windows are dirty & the ceiling is low...
it's cabin fever.

When you bury your nose in dried mint
& open seed catalogs for inspiration
& beg your indoor plants to grow...
it's cabin fever.

When watery sunshine draws you out
& you bask in its faint warmth
& you change your clothes three times...
it's cabin fever.

When you notice the webs between your toes
& the dog won't follow you out into the rain
& you watch TV for sun–drenched scenes...
it's cabin fever.

When your tastebuds scream for something green
& oranges are first on your shopping list
& canned anything tastes like metal...
it's cabin fever.

When jumping into the car is an adventure
& every mile & errand fascinating
& you cannot sit still for another moment...
it's cabin fever.

When two's a crowd
& the UPS guy is Dr. Livingston
& you're reading junk mail...
Then cabin fever has got you.

It only lasts a month
& though you know it's imminent
& still it infects you until
all of a sudden you realize...

You're in a fever of pacing & growling
& fuming & howling
& huffing & puffing
at the confines of your little nest.

It's time to get out where no walls crowd
& no electricity hums.
& it's outside for any reason
where a body can move & breathe free.

As surely as the slugs return, cabin fever cometh.

By Rebecca of RebeccaReads.Com

Have you visited Rebecca? Cabin Fever is one of her creations! Since I enjoy living in and talking about my cabin, I asked her for permission to use it here in my little corner of the internet. Now I won’t say that I have Cabin Fever exactly, but I must admit that even though the cold continues, I’ve been pulling on a warm jacket and heading outside. I’ve freed my upcoming flowers from their cover of leaves and picked up all of the smaller limbs and branches that were broken by the crushing snows we had this year. And, of course I have to stop and bend down to wish each cat or kitten a good morning!

No, I don’t normally get Cabin Fever because there are too many books to keep my mind enthralled! Let me tell you about one in particular!

Lisa Jackson has become one of my favorite writers. I get a kick seeing her picture in the back. After reading a "gory story" there is this young woman who looks like she is still in college…unsophisticated, just starting out…And yet! Wow, do her books sizzle! I just finished Fatal Burn. Almost 500 pages of twists and turns kept me riveted. A young girl is kidnapped. And her father is taking an active role in finding her! He heads right to her birth mother, hoping that she is who has stolen his daughter. Not only is that not the case, but there are other people who are now being murdered…and clues are left indicating that the murderer is also holding the kidnapped girl. Ok, I didn’t know for sure "whodunit" but I did guess right! Does that count? Anyway, there were lots of suspects…lots of action…and lots of attraction between the adoptive father and the birth mother…Can’t get any better!



Wednesday, March 29, 2006

Was I Insulted? What say you?

I think I was insulted a few days ago. I’m not sure, maybe that was the intent. But after I thought about it, I could only feel sorry for the individual who had said it…because she was missing out on a LOT of good reading. You see, I was asked to do a little administrative work by the director of our BookReviewers site--to find one or two additional reviewers. I carefully went through the applicants and had narrowed them down to three. I started to contact them…the first one didn’t respond so I assumed she was no longer interested. The second one said "Yes!" and proceeded to submit further information and a sample review.

I then contacted the third one who had sent a sample review earlier. At first she said she was interested, but indicated she didn’t do POD or vanity books. I quickly wrote back and told her that most of our books to be reviewed were POD. She declined to be considered further, indicating that she just couldn’t do this kind of book.

Okay, I admit it. At first I was irritated, just a little bit offended. Yes, she does reviews of books that were published…but then, so do we. We just don't "refuse" books that were submitted to us by POD authors. I felt like she was implying that we weren’t professional reviewers! Well…Boo Hiss! I say! Admittedly, we do have some books that come to us with errors. We either refuse to review them or work with these authors to have them corrected. We want to support these new authors!

Why should I spend a lot of time reviewing books by James Patterson, Jonathan and Faye Kellerman, Dean Koontz, Linda Howard, N. Roberts/J.D.Robb, Robert B. Parker…and all the many favorite authors I read all the time? These individuals are great authors and everybody knows it!

I would much rather spend my "review" time with bright new shining stars that are fitting their writing into their busy lives. They are trying to follow their dreams while doing all that needs to be done to keep bread and milk on the table. I can stand to read and mark a few errors to help them move forward in their writing experience. Sometimes I even get to ghostwrite a paragraph or a book closing or a word or two within their books that helps them say what they want to say, just a little bit better.

Having over 40 years of writing experience of one type or another, I take most afternoons and evenings and spend time with my beloved favorite authors. If I wrote  a review, what could I say…"Great! As Always!" I do that once in awhile in this blog…ah, but it is so much more fun, more exciting, to be able to say that I was there right at the beginning…I helped make this individual’s first book happen! I let people know that this new author, though lacking a lot of writing experience, has dreamed and believed enough in himself/herself to ensure that they broke into the publishing world…whether through POD, a small press publisher, self-publishing, or even vanity…

I’ve enjoyed lots of great books that I might never have had the opportunity to read had I not agreed to read books that are by these new authors, finding a place for themselves via the new technologies in publishing.

So, to those of you, including the big publishers, who don't have time or don't care to "risk" money on these new authors...well, I can only pity you.  If God has given me a talent to read/enjoy books and a skill that allows me to help new authors find their way in the harsh publishing world, then that may indeed be the path He's chosen for me.  And, Wow, am I having a lot of fun doing it!

More Than Angels: Once Upon a Broken Heart published!

One of the recent manuscripts I reviewed is now published--More Than Angels! If you didn’t check it out then, do so now…and then consider buying this wonderful book! I got an autographed first edition and excerpts from my review on the front cover and inside too! Plus, my new friend and author, Ruby Moon-Houldson gave me a number of pictures plus a series of DVD’s regarding a certain group of individuals for which we both share an admiration. Hey, Trekkies, this woman is a realllll fan! Check her out!


Talk about wonderful books! I just finished Elizabeth’s Choice by Mary Edwards! See my posted review! Check out the little blond on the cover—she reminds me of myself when I was a little girl…LOL. I don’t think I was quite as brave as this one though. My Mom was a widow, but, gee, I just never thought of asking God for a new father. Maybe that was because my father had been killed before I was born and thus never had the experience Elizabeth had. Still, God was in our home as well and a lot of prayers went up. This book is a great family-oriented story that you can share with your children!


I also finished Fairies in Elysium by Danielle Marie Linton, The Final Voyage of the Sea Explorer by Douglas Boren, and Bullets and Bandages by Robert Saniscalchi…More on these next time!


To close, I’d like to share a short story sent to me by my friend, Robert Noonan, author of the Wildflowers Trilogy.

Here is a true story on giving. It was told by Jack Kornfield of the Spirit Rock Meditation Center in Woodacre.

An eight-year-old boy had a younger sister who was dying of Leukemia, and he was told that without a blood transfusion she would die. His parents explained to him that his blood was probably compatible with hers, and if so, he could be the blood donor. They asked him if they could test his blood. He said sure. So they did and it was a match. Then they asked if he would give his sister a pint of blood, that it could be her only chance of living. He said he would have to think about it overnight.

The next day he went to his parents and said he was willing to donate the blood. So they took him to the hospital where he was put on a gurney beside his six-year-old sister. Both of them were hooked up to IVs. A nurse withdrew a pint of blood from the boy, which was then put into the girl's IV. The boy lay on his gurney in silence while the blood dripped into his sister, until the doctor came over to see how he was doing. Then the boy opened his eyes and asked, "How soon until I start to die?"


Fortunately, Jesus already died for all of us!  Especially at this time of year, stop and remember that He died on the cross that we all might live! 

"He Lives, He Lives, Christ Jesus lives today.  He walks with me and talks with me,  Along the narrow Way.  He Lives, He lives, Salvation to impart.  You asked me how I know he lives?  He Lives...within my heart!

God Bless!

Thursday, March 16, 2006

Publishing May be Your Own Personal "Hell!"

I am angry today! Good and mad, in fact! Angry at individuals and companies who think nothing about their customers, their clients...only about the money they can make!

As a book reviewer, I receive a lot of books from new authors. They are eager and concerned that they will get a good review. However, for many of them, there is so much "wrong" with the book that as a professional reviewer I must consider my own reputation in providing that review.
It is NOT easy to write a bad review. It is NOT easy to criticize someone who has worked hard to put their own words into something that will be shared with others. I find that I empathize with each one of these writers as I think back to the many reports, letters, articles that I had to produce on the job.

When I found I had a talent for helping new authors through providing book reviews, I found a new joy in a career that is supportive and helpful. It helped greatly to reduce the anger and frustration associated with the last job I had before retirement. There, too, there were people who had lost their concern for individuals, for their feelings.

There are MANY companies out there who pretend to be friends to new authors. When you look over their online web sites, you begin to hope, to believe, that
there is somebody who is going to help you break into the hardest circle in the world, I think--the world of publishing!

Now, I know that these individuals need to make money to stay in business!

But if you are going to be in business, it my opinion, you must be prepared to do everything possible to make those efforts the best possible. Instead, if a publisher is "scamming" clients, they work to ensure that "quality" is hard to come by...they announce that editors will work with these new authors. But
they really don't. And when that author comes back regarding errors in their printed book, with probably a beautiful, appropriate cover, they are told that they will have to pay for corrections...and they'll have to pay...for this...and for that...and for just this one other thing! It is so unethical! These companies hide behind so many misleading advertisements and can still dare to stay in business, continuing to look out and encourage other new writers who are waiting to be "published."

Now, the author does have some responsibility, hopefully having had their work edited or at least proofread by a competent assistant prior to submission. Most of the time, though, if mistakes are made by an author, as I read, I will normally find a similar statement/sentence in which the error
was correct. That to me means that the author is competent in basic writing skills, but just has read through their book so often that they are reading "what is in their mind" rather than what is "actually there on the paper." To me, that is perfectly understandable and acceptable because we all make similar errors.

However, when an individual who is paid as an editor and works for a publisher does not catch errors, to me that is totally unacceptable. Under NO circumstances could I condone proceeding to actually printing that book!  And yet, I can say without a doubt that 100% of the books submitted to me have errors in their final published book!  Maybe just a few so we don't mention them; others are so bad that we refuse to review them...who knows, the book may have been a potential best seller...but no reader is willing to wade through garbage to find it!

Well, my ranting is over, I guess...with this closing...

Writers, Beware! Your own worst enemy may be your publisher!

Sunday, March 12, 2006

Early Read of Excerpt of Upcoming Novel!

Even though it’s been raining today, it was a good day…visiting the Lord’s House! I was privileged to sing one of the Gaither melodies that some of you may remember, There’s Just Something About that Name which includes a reading between singing it through twice. As Easter draws near, it is important that we remember that Jesus Lives!


With her permission, I am sharing a poem written by a new author friend of mine. Her next book will have the same title as the poem, Autumn’s Turning. So this is a special, early excerpt from that book. Isn’t it beautiful?

Mary Edwards

It is here, love, the evening of our days
How shall we spend it before the dark night laughs with autumn's turning, and winter bids us come?
We loved each other well, didn't we, in the morning of our youth? We worked, we laughed and played and shared remembered heartaches.
As we walked into noon, a child's laughter charmed the silence and together we looked upon the flower of our love.
But now the sun has gone to bed and we are sentenced to the night that runs on swiftly moving hours to claim our days
And wonder who will it be that waits to greet the other beyond that secret curtain
Would that we could go together and shorten the lonely journey while the night surrounds us
And autumn turns to winter and bids us sleep.
                                                                                                   - Mary


I’ve just received Mary’s second book, Elizabeth’s Choice, and will be reading it this week. Come back to check my review!


Bullets and Bandages by Robert Saniscalchi has also come and will be next for a review. This book is based on true events from the Vietnam War, as told to the author by his brother. Perhaps because this war was during my early years working, stories regarding that war has always captured my attention. This one should be completed within two weeks! Don’t forget to check back on this book, which is credited by USAF Retired Wayne A Whitehead, to be an accurate accounting and story about this "Hell."


I had the opportunity to read three uniquely different books recently and I want to share and recommend all of them to you!

Linda Fairstein, in The Deadhouse, wrote a suspenseful murder story against the backdrop of buildings erected on a small island in the East River outside of New York City, which provided an asylum, prison and a hospital for the terminally ill back in the 20’s. One of them was once called The Deadhouse and you'll find bodies are still taken there, even today!

The search for a murdered professor who was dumped into an elevator shaft leads DA Alexandra Cooper, working with detectives, to a college campus and on to the ancient, haunting buildings that are now being excavated and studied by various professors and students. In addition to the intriguing trail they follow to discover what happened, Fairstein has brought forth and highlighted a bit of New York history regarding the treatment of prisoners as well as patients in these horrendous facilities. She has achieved a blend of the old with the new that is not only informative but keeps you turning the pages.  Get this one soon!


Well, I finally met one! For those of us who are involved in the publishing business, we learn that there are few authors who break in big as a new writer. Meet Adam Fawer, whose first novel Improbable, has made it. The novel has already been translated into nine languages for sales internationally and as a paperback, his book came out with a neat little plastic cover that was filled with scientific symbols. Eye-catching and unusual, you bet! This, I thought, is what an author gets when published by Harper Torch! Okay, okay! It is good¾ maybe very good. But Great? I don’t know…I've been a reader of many other new novels which never were accepted by the major publishers and have enjoyed them much better…

Improbable is indeed unique with its main character being a mathematical genius who could ultimately figure the future using those skills! David Caine is also a compulsive gambler! He is also prone to epileptic seizures. With that combination, Fawer takes the reader into a maze of danger when various individual scientists decide that he may be a very important person…and he should have his head examined…literally! The interesting thing for me was the medical info regarding the differences in the brains of individuals who have epilepsy. The exploration of possibilities for these individuals were fascinating and chilling. Those interested in science should find this a must read!


Stuart Woods, in a 1994 paperback, L.A. Times, brought me another unique novel to explore. Consider a young boy who from childhood loved movies…and not much else. His background is as a member of the mob. But he escapes that, changes his name and heads for Hollywood, to become a producer. His expertise in undoubted and he is willing to do anything to succeed.

Woods has placed a sociopath as his main character. A likeable guy, until you get to know him! This romp through the making of pictures and the money-crunching behind them is an interesting tale. What is more interesting is the last scene. Shall we say that "hell hath no fury" like the victims of a sociopath? A very interesting read!

Friday, March 3, 2006

Another Cool Play on Words!

A Well-Known Monk

A wandering monk walked barefoot everywhere he went, to the point that the soles of his feet eventually became quite thick and leathery. And because he ate very little, he gradually became very frail. Several days often passed between opportunities to brush his teeth, so he usually had bad breath. Therefore, throughout the region, he came to be known as the super-calloused fragile mystic plagued with halitosis.

Hey, I've been getting jokes sent to be from ""...I just had to share this one because of its "play on words."

And by the way, reviews are posted for the latest two exciting books I've been talking about!  Go check out my reviews!  Pretty Please!


Wednesday, March 1, 2006

A little light humor

As always, I find something in my email to make me smile!  As a singer, I enjoyed the following...hope you do to!

Hymns for All Professions

Dentist's Hymn: Crown Him with Many Crowns
Weatherman's Hymn: There Shall Be Showers of Blessings
Contractor's Hymn: The Church's One Foundation
Tailor's Hymn: Holy, Holy, Holy
Golfer's Hymn: There's a Green Hill Far Away
Politician's Hymn: Standing on the Promises
Optometrist's Hymn: Open My Eyes That I Might See
IRS Agent's Hymn: I Surrender All
Gossip's Hymn: Pass It On
Electrician's Hymn: Send The Light
Shopper's Hymn: Sweet By and By
Realtor's Hymn: I've Got a Mansion, Just Over the Hilltop
Massage Therapist's Hymn: He Touched Me
Doctor's Hymn: The Great Physician

Book Review's Hymn:  Wonderful Words of Life

Okay, the last one I added!  But...hey, it works!


I just finished Absolute Instinct by Robert W. Walker.  It is the last book in his series starring Jessica Coran.  Wow--is it a smashing finale!  A serial killer is killing women and removing their entire backbones...And using them along with his sculptures!  After he eats the marrow...Yeah. these are weird happenings, but I enjoy the "mechanics" by which the characters put together the pieces to have the good guys win out over the bad guys!  I hadn't read the entire series but have enjoyed several others by Walker.  If you are into CSI "stuff" it!

Author Wright, who wrote Lavina, had asked that I do a little editing for him, so I reread this book over the last few days...and enjoyed it just as much as I did the first time.  Outside of the Song of Solomon, I have never read anybody who wrote about a young couple in love with such beautiful wording--just as beautiful as those Biblical words!  If you haven't bought it yet, get's about a young prince and princess from Africa, who, on the day they agreed to marry, were kidnapped and brought to America on a slave ship.  The book covers their separate lives over the next ten years until they find each other and immediately marry, still loving each other as they had originally declared.  Truly a book worth reading and remembering!




Friday, February 24, 2006

Thomas Kemp's Book is Out!

Yep, the second book by Thomas T. Kemp, popularly known as Your Poet Is is available at Amazon.  First, take a look at my review and then, hopefully, you'll want to go on out and buy it!
We continue to be very busy and our authors are now coming back for additional services... 
I've just finished reading The Gifts by Linda S. Prather and The Van Laven Oath by J. Nelson-Owens.  Both of these were wonderful and reviews will be posted shortly.
Hey, guess what, I even had a chance to review a'd be surprised what you can tell about this kind of resource guide! If you are interested in learning Italian, this book is for you!
Next on the list for my friend Adolph Caso is We The People: Formative Documents of America's Democracy. I think I've learned more American History through my reviews than I ever did in school!
J. D. Robb, put out a short story, Midnight in Death, during the Christmas holidays.  In the midst of holiday preparation, Eve Dallas has to find a serial killer who has escaped prison and is out to eliminate all of those who put him behind bars!  If you haven't started reading the Death series, you are missing a lot of good reading!
Meryl Sawyer in Half Past Dead provides a taunt, exciting suspense.  Kaitlin Wells is falsely accused of robbery and then is let out on a work furlough when the feds find out that she really wasn't guilty...on the condition that she helps capture the real culprit(s). Bummer!  But she agrees to release and to assist in the apprehension...and just happens to get involved with the local handsome, daring lawman, along the way!  Hey, nothing like a little romance to help expedite and move things forward...
Both of these are great reads!  So, enjoy!

Monday, February 20, 2006

An email circulating poem...

Sometimes you get to read special things that are circulated through email.  My sister sent me this one and I am pleased to share this fine lady's poem!  May we all remember and learn from it!

When an old lady died in the geriatric ward of a small hospital it was believed  that she had nothing left of any value. Later, when the nurses were going through her meager possessions, they found this poem.  Its quality and content so impressed  the staff that copies were made and distributed to every nurse in the hospital.

The old Scottish lady, with nothing left to give to the world, is now the author
of this "anonymous"  poem winging across the Internet:

Crabby Old Woman

What do you see, nurses?

What do you see?

What are you thinking

When you're looking at me?

A crabby old woman,

Not very wise,

Uncertain of habit,

With faraway eyes?

Who dribbles her food

And makes no reply

When you say in a loud voice,

"I do wish you'd try!"

Who seems not to notice

The things that you do,

And forever is losing

A stocking or shoe?

Who, resisting or not,

Lets you do as you will,

With bathing and feeding,

The long day to fill?

Is that what you're thinking?

Is that what you see?

Then open your eyes, nurse,

You're not looking at me.

I'll tell you who I am

As I sit here so still,

As I do at your bidding,

As I eat at your will.

I'm a small child of ten

With a father and mother,

Brothers and sisters,

Who love one another.

A young girl of sixteen

With wings on her feet

Dreaming that soon now

A lover she'll meet.

A bride soon at twenty,

My heart gives a leap,

Remembering the vows

That I promised to keep.

At twenty-five now,

I have young of my own,

Who need me to guide

And a secure happy home.

A woman of thirty,

My young now grown fast,

Bound to each other

With ties that should last.

At forty, my young sons

Have grown and are gone,

But my man's beside me

To see I don't mourn.

At fifty once more,

Babies play round my knee,

Again we know children,

My loved one and me.

Dark days are upon me,

My husband is dead,

I look at the future,

I shudder with dread.

For my young are all rearing

Young of their own,

And I think of the years

And the love that I've known.

I'm no w an old woman

And nature is cruel;

'Tis jest to make old age

Look like a fool.

The body, it crumbles,

Grace and vigor depart,

There is now a stone

Where I once had a heart.

But inside this old carcass

A young girl still dwells,

And now and again,

My battered heart swells.

I remember the joys,

I remember the pain,

And I'm loving and living

Life over again.

I think of the years

All too few, gone too fast,

And accept the stark fact

That nothing can last.

So open your eyes, people,

Open and see,

Not a crabby old woman;

Look closer . . see ME!!

Remember this poem when you next meet an old person who you might brush
aside without looking at the young soul within . ..   we will all, one day,
be there, too!